Lazy Day

I'm parked in my company's truck lot, waiting for Monday to come, when I'll begin the process of becoming a trainer. The truck was in the shop this morning, so I spent my early hours playing pool in the Driver's Lounge and chatting with various new-hires and drivers upgrading from Phase 1 to Phase 2. It felt good to look back and see the progress I'd made, to be able to share stories and advice with drivers who are walking the same path I trod months ago. I feel I've made good progress in my career.

Next month I'll qualify for my first raise, right around the same time my wife will begin driving for PTL. I'm looking forward to earning a little more every month, and with her on board, we'll be doubling our income right off the bat. Things are looking good!

I've been working on some fiction and developing a tabletop roleplaying system that uses playing cards instead of dice. My various projects keep me busy during my downtime. One project I need to spend more time on is my fitness. Being on the road for four months without a fridge has taken its toll on me. Most non-perishable food is preserved with sugar or salt, so I've been eating too much of both. I'm making an effort to reduce my sugar and salt intake, but it's difficult when I don't have a working refrigerator. To help balance the scales some, I've decided to spend more time every day exercising. It can be hard to find time for exercise on the road, but I want to make it a bigger priority, so that I can prevent myself from gaining too much weight and having health problems. Fitness on the road is a challenge, but it's a challenge worth tackling.

Well, that's about all the news I have for now. I'll keep you all updated as things progress. Much love, dear readers! Take care of yourselves. And remember, if you have any questions or comments, you can always contact me via the "Contact Me" link at the top of the page. I'd love to hear your thoughts, but I'm not a telepath, so for now, email will have to suffice.

Safe travels!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

