The Scenic Route

Whew! What a week. I bet you've all been sitting at the edge of your seats, hitting F5 to refresh the page over and over, aching to know what's been happening in my little world. No? Well, I'll tell you anyway.

After arriving in Nashville, my wife and I parked at a TA for our 34-hour reset. On the first day, we headed into the city to explore, visiting a few well-known landmarks before heading to the Crazy Town bar to enjoy some refreshing drinks and live music. We saw some incredible architecture and art, though we didn't visit any of the museums due to the cost. Hopefully next time we stop in Nashville we'll have more time and money for such activities.

At Crazy Town, we listened to a fantastic musician named Stevenson Everett who performed a number of well-known songs as well as some of his own creations.

He had an excellent voice, and as I was buying his album, we got to talk some. He told me he'd considered being a trucker, and I told him I'm glad he chose to be a musician instead. He may not make as much money, but he gets to share his art with the world, and that's a beautiful thing. I hope he finds much success.

After Stevenson finished his set, we left Crazy Town and took a walk down the street to the B.B. King Blues Club & Grill, where we enjoyed an incredible meal and listened to a few hours of great blues performed by a live band.

After a day full of the sights and sounds of downtown Nashville, we decided it was time to return to the truck for the night. The following morning, we strapped on our camelbaks, called another Uber, and traveled to the Long Hunter State Park, where we took a long hike together. There was lots of great scenery and we got some good exercise, and took plenty of pictures.

All in all, it was a fantastic little Tennessee vacation. Afterward, we picked up another load heading to Ohio, then another to Indiana, then finally picked up a final load headed for Texas, where I was to take some home time and drop off my wife. She begins trucking school on Monday the 31st, and having spent the past couple weeks with me on the road, she is excited about driving with me as a trucker.

I'm going to miss her in the next month and a half. She's been a great companion for me, and we've had a lot of fun together. I'm really looking forward to when we can drive together again.

Well, that's the haps here in my neck of the woods. I hope you're all doing well and finding joy in your lives. Thanks for reading, and I'll be back again soon!

3 thoughts on “The Scenic Route

  1. Thanks for keeping us abreast of your travels! I know you are looking forward to the time when you can train Christina and travel together. We had a chance to face time her on Sunday night and she is rockin’ her blond short new cut! Practical for driving long distances…low maintenance. 🙂 So good to catch up with her again~ I know she will do well with her classes. Love the updates and the pics are great! Stay alert and safe out there! Wishing you both the best life has to offer!.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

