Ramblin’ Man

Sorry for the long hiatus, friends! It's been awful busy in Truck Stop Land. We reached our destination in Indiana, then made consecutive deliveries to Tennessee and Pennsylvania, then got a load back to Nashville, Tennessee, where I made my delivery this morning.

During the last week, we listened to a great deal of the HarmonTown podcast, finished the audiobook of Lady Chatterly's Lover, played Fable and Fable 2 on the Xbox, ate at a Denny's, and read many chapters of House of Leaves. It's been a busy week!

All the while I've been training my wife, teaching her all about trucking. Parts of the truck, coupling and decoupling from the trailer, how to drive in inclement weather, how to back the truck, etc. Basically, I taught her everything I could without actually putting her in the driver's seat. She's a quick learner, but I knew that.

Which is why we found it a little funny and a little insulting when she was heckled by a trucker on her way into a truck stop. I was at the fuel island pumping gas (a task with which she usually helps me), but she had to use the restroom so she headed inside. On her way to the door, a fellow trucker saw her and smiled, calling out "you no truck driver!" Perhaps he was trying to flirt or be silly, but my wife wasn't thrilled. Sure, as a 5 foot tall, 100 pound woman, she's definitely not your average trucker. And no, she doesn't yet have her CDL. So technically he was right. But as he once more called out "you no truck driver" with a big grin plastered across his face, she ignored him, refusing to acknowledge someone who clearly couldn't imagine that such a petite woman could succeed at his chosen profession. When she returned to the truck, she told me the story, and said "I'll bet I become a better truck driver than he could ever be." That's my kind of woman! She's been studying hard for her CDL test ever since.

As we've been driving, my wife has been delighted to see so many beautiful trees and birds and deer. She appreciates the beauty of the world as much as I do, and I'm glad for it. We're going to be taking a 34-hour reset today and tomorrow, and we hope to spend some of that time visiting a national park near Nashville, after which we might head into the city to see what's there. Maybe we can find a pub with live music. It's always nice when you can take a 34 somewhere beautiful and culturally significant.

We hope to make the most of this little break, and I'll be sure to tell you all about it in my next post. Thanks for your patience, dear readers, and stay tuned for more adventures from Trucker Land!

Oh, and before I go, a little homework assignment. As you go about your day-to-day activities this week, when you find yourself bored or bummed or bothered, challenge yourself to see if you can find something beautiful around you. It might be the way the dust glows in a beam of sunlight, or a flower growing between the cracks in the sidewalk, or an act of kindness between strangers. Sometimes the beauty might be obvious, sometimes you might have to search for it, or see something mundane in a new light. It might even be a beautiful sound or emotion or thought, or a taste or smell. It doesn't matter, as long as it is beautiful to you. Just seek it out, enjoy it for the moment, and be grateful that you are able to experience such beauty, even in the most mundane situations.

I don't expect a report, but if you want to share your moment of beauty with me, I'd be glad to hear about it. Feel free to message me in the comments or via my Contact page. I hope to hear from you!

Until next time, happy trails!

2 thoughts on “Ramblin’ Man

  1. Never feel pressured to write your blog postings, and especially when your on the road trying to make appointments it can be difficult. Please tell your wife there is a lot of drivers out there who are by their nature neanderthals. I teamed with a lady back when I was in training that was also 5 foot and she could handle a rig far better than I.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She’s grateful for your kind words! I’m certain she’ll be a damn good trucker in time. If anything, she’s not disparaged by the Neanderthal’s words, she’s motivated by them, and by the hopes that she can be an example of strength and self-sufficiency for other women who think trucking is a “boy’s club.”

      Like

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

