Convenient Delay

Today my wife and I were supposed to hit the road together, but fate had other plans. We had to take the truck to the shop a couple days ago, and it likely won’t be available until Monday at the soonest, so we are going to be staying at home in Fort Wortha few days longer than planned. One the one hand, this means we won’t be making the same money as if I was driving and delivering loads, and it means we are sitting on our laurels at the whim of the repair shop, which sucks. But on the other hand, this means we have more time to visit friends and family, get our affairs in order, and enjoy the creature comforts of home, and we’re even getting paid layover pay to sweeten the deal. So basically, I’m getting paid to spend time at home. Not as much as if I was driving, but it’s money I didn’t have before, so I’m not complaining.

The visit has been wonderful so far. Some of our plans have fallen through (as plans are wont to do), but all in all we’ve had a great visit. We celebrated the 4th with family, spent the 5th celebrating a dear friend’s birthday, watched Dogma with my sister and her new friend on the 6th, and had a party on the 7th. We got to see friends we hadn’t seen in months, meet some new people, and have a good time overall. And since we are staying home some extra time, we are able to see even more of our friends and family than we had originally planned. We hope to go swimming on Sunday, and today we enjoyed a delicious lunch with my mother, father and sister.

Hopefully the truck will be ready to roll on Monday. But if not, we’ll be okay, as long as it’s ready before too long.

Stay tuned, dear readers, and I’ll keep you updated as the pulse-racing story of our truck repairs unfold! Until next time, eat your cereal with a fork, and do your homework in the dark.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

