Weekend Holiday

This weekend was a nice reprieve from a hard week’s work. I took a load from Georgia to Tennessee, stopping along the way for groceries and plenty of rest, and arrived this morning feeling all the better for it.

Today, however, was much slower than I’d have liked. Upon arriving for my delivery, they took four hours to unload the trailer. Then my company tried to send me to New York (which I had opted out of for the time being), and I had to tangle with dispatch to clear that up before they finally reassigned me to a New Jersey load. Following this, I drove to the shipper to get loaded up, and they took three and a half hours to get me loaded. By the time I finally hit the road, I had just enough time to find a truck stop and park for the night. I drove a total of 100 miles and worked all of two hours today.

It seems a bit ironic to me that I would speak first of my enjoyment of a lazy weekend, only to follow it with complaints of only being able to work two hours in a day. But keep in mind, I couldn’t help the weekend load being a short drive to be due on Monday. In that case, I might as well enjoy myself. But today, these shipping and receiving workers cost me hours of time, time which could have been used driving, so I could make my delivery early and grab another load. Today was a wash and cost me money, and slowed down the rest of my week as a result. Which means this week’s paycheck is likely to be a lot slimmer than I’d have hoped.

That being said, there’s nothing I can do about it. Best to roll with the punches. I got extra sleep during my delivery and had time to read during my pick-up, so I gained enjoyment from the day, even if I didn’t make any money. I am ever reminded of the serenity prayer: “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the strength to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” I’m not a religious man, as you all know, but these are wise words to live by nonetheless.

I finished Wives and Daughters; what an exquisite novel! It made me angry, happy, afraid, and sad, and I consider it one of the best novels I’ve ever experienced. Oldie but goodie for sure.

Following this, I began listening to Sweet Tooth by Ian McEwan, which has been quite good as well. It’s about an MI5 agent during the 70s, and is not at all what I expected. Astute and delicate observations, illicit and passionate love affairs, and inter-agency intrigue, and I’m only 30% through the book! I do so love audiobooks…

Over the next couple days I’ll be driving to New Jersey, hopefully finding time to do some laundry along the way. I don’t think I’ve ever been to New Jersey before, so I’m looking forward to it. I’ll let you know how the journey goes!

Much love, dear readers. I’m going to bed early this evening in the hopes of making an early delivery on Wednesday. So, goodnight! May your dreams be full of wonder and beauty.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

