Destroyer of Worlds

The past couple days I spent driving from Georgia to Louisiana to deliver some medical supplies to a healthcare facility in Hammond. On the way, I listened to a 6-hour episode of a podcast called Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History. The episode was called “The Destroyer of Worlds,” and it was all about the dawn of the age of atomic weaponry and the impact they’ve made on global politics. I’ve listened to plenty of podcasts on plenty of subjects, but never before have I felt such sorrow, terror or shock inspired by a podcast. There were moments where I was literally weeping and had to stop the podcast in order to recover a bit before continuing. But when it was all said and done, I was immeasurably grateful to Dan for providing such a deep and broad historical overview of the subject. I know many of my readers may not have a spare six hours just laying around in which to listen to this podcast, but even if you have to listen in segments, I urge you all to check it out.

It rained during most of the day, but I didn’t mind. The rain keeps people off the roads more than usual, and it gives my truck a little bit of a wash, so it looks nicer. I especially love when it rains hard while I’m parked and trying to sleep. The rain is a comforting white noise, and it helps me drift off better than anything. Of course, I don’t want to drift off while driving, so it’s good I have plenty of books and exciting podcasts to listen to!

I’m going to have to get to bed early tonight so I can be up at 4am tomorrow. Fortunately I got to the truck stop by noon today, so I had the afternoon and evening to enjoy myself. I had fun watching Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, then had a fun conversation with a dear friend, and now I’m going to turn in for the night.

Wish me luck for a good day tomorrow! It’s dream time for me now. Catch you all on the flippy-floppy! 

One thought on “Destroyer of Worlds

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

