Phase 2, Day 27: Fresh Start

I slept in the driver’s lounge last night because my former teammate made verbal threats. He got pissed off at me because he blamed me for bringing us back to West Memphis, and he said “you’d better get out of the truck now before you get hurt.” So I left. I was up bright and early this morning to talk to the Safety Office, who basically told me that unless I have photographic proof of law-breaking or unsafe driving, nothing I say about my former team driver will matter. Finally, I was told that whoever found a new teammate first would have dibs on the truck. Truck be damned, I thought. I just want a good partner.

Fortunately, though Zach found a partner first, he left the truck to me and chose to roll out in his new partner’s truck. His new partner and I talked for a while, and I let him know what he was getting into, so hopefully he’ll be cautious. It’s out of my hands.

I found a new partner pretty quickly. The guy I’m going to drive with next actually attended the same truck driving school as me, at the same time as I did. He’s from Longview, Texas, and we seem to jive really well. We got a load at the same time as my ex-partner, going to the same place at the same time, and we arrived an hour earlier than they did, and I saw that my ex-partner’s new partner can’t back the truck to save his life. Looks like my ex-partner is getting his just desserts, teamed with a guy just as bad as he is. (I’m trying very hard not to gloat, and failing.)

Our truck needs some maintenance though, so we’re going to be in here til Monday, possibly later. But that’s no worry; we’re in Murray, and that means free buffet daily, and plenty of sleep. I’ve made a good lot of money the last two weeks, so I’m not too worried about the delay.

Things are definitely looking up. The only problem is my new teammate only has 5,000 more miles before he gets to go solo, while I’ve still got 19,000 miles til solo. So after another week I’ll probably be looking for another partner… but I’ll do my best to enjoy this while I can. Hopefully my next partner will be worthwhile as well.

My wife is having a good time with some friends of ours tonight and I’m feeling a little homesick, wishing I could join them. That being said, I love them all dearly and I’m glad that they’re all together. I’m happy she’s got a good support system and has loving people she can depend upon when I can’t be there for her.

Today is a day of new beginnings. Let the past stay in the past, set my sights on the future, and roll on.

Much love, everyone. I’m gonna watch some Rifftrax and go to sleep. I’ll see you all in the morning!

2 thoughts on “Phase 2, Day 27: Fresh Start

  1. You know what they say my friend… Life’s journey is accomplished by taking one step at a time. Take it from one who has been on this road for over seven decades life’s road is never a straight line it is filled with twists and turns and it seems that we grow personally with each of those unexpected twists in the road….. as always prayers for safe roads ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I believe that the most important and life-changing events of our lives are the ones we never planned for. I always seek to grow and learn.

      Like

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

