Phase 2, Day 9: Lone Star

We made our delivery this morning in Houston, then headed to the Anheuser-Busch plant for our next pickup, bound for El Paso. A fourteen-hour drive without ever leaving the state of Texas. Damn, this state is big…

I managed to get some decent sleep while my teammate drove this morning. Though, as the truck rumbled and bounced, all I could dream about was being in the truck. At one point, I dreamt that a semi in front of ours took a turn too sharply and flipped over, forcing us to dodge around it and nearly flip ourselves. Thank goodness it was only a dream! Keep the truck shiny-side up, rubber on the road, and roll on.

Around 4, it was my time to drive again. I planned to be in El Paso by 6, as long as everything went according to plan. I wouldn’t be able to make it there during my shift, as it was about 12 hours away, but I hoped to make it most of the way before swapping drivers again.

As luck would have it, I made it all the way to the delivery spot with an hour to spare. Unfortunately, the recipient doesn’t accept loads until 8am, and I arrived at 3am, so I had to find a truck stop and park for the night.

It’s been a long day of driving. I’m exhausted and ready to crash, but I’m going to have to wake up in three hours because my teammate hasn’t been sending the necessary messages to our dispatcher, so I have to teach him how to use the Qualcomm. I spent an hour today sorting out a mess he caused by forgetting to send off the appropriate messages, so I have to make sure he knows what he’s doing from now on in order to prevent this from happening again.

I hope tomorrow goes smoother! I’ve driven two-thirds of the total miles we’ve accumulated thus far, so I’m going to let my partner drive more tomorrow. I could use the sleep.

Much love, all.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

