Phase 1, Day 13: Little Pebbles, Big Problems

After leaving Tennessee today, we encountered some heavy rainfall, and during the storm a dump truck passed beside us and kicked up a pebble which struck the windshield, causing a six-inch crack to form. While it was out of our line-of-sight, it was still enough to put us out of service until the windshield was repaired. I was worried that this would delay or prevent my return home in the evening, but there was nothing I could do, so I had to just accept my fate and wait. I could get frustrated and pissed off at my bad luck, but it wouldn’t change anything, it would only cause me more suffering. So I chose to be patient and try to make the most of my down-time.

I got an update at 2:00, saying that our repair truck wouldn’t arrive until sometime between 3 and 5. With our 7-hour drive to Dallas, I wouldn’t arrive until between 10 and 12, and since my wife has to be at work at 11 tomorrow morning, this delay meant I wouldn’t get to visit her at home tonight. A big disappointment for us both, but again, there was nothing I could do to change the situation, so I did my best to accept my lot and move on.

At 4:20, we learned that the glass repair people won’t be able to fix the truck until tomorrow morning. And since we can’t drive with the broken window, that means we’ll be sticking around this truck stop for the night.

At 5:00 we were informed that another truck would be coming to retrieve our load and complete the delivery. Which means we won’t be heading to Dallas at all tomorrow, but will instead be redirected to collect a different load at a different time.

My expectations this morning were completely undermined by the reality of the day’s events. A single pebble caused the perfect storm. This is why I say “don’t make plans, just set goals.” Plans can go wrong, but you can always find a new way to work towards your goals. I’m still going to make it home eventually; it just won’t be tomorrow.

Being a trucker requires flexibility. Things go wrong, plans change. It’s important not to get bent out of shape about it. Life throws you curveballs sometimes, but adaptability is one of our greatest strengths.

In today’s case, I adapted by finishing Mona Lisa Overdrive, then binge-watching Bones with my trainer.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

