Phase 1, Day 10: Back to Ohio

Last night we had a pre-plan that sent us to Laredo, Texas. This morning, however, they changed that pre-plan to Ohio. We hit the road at 9:00 heading to our next pick-up in Breiningsville, Pennsylvania.

After a short stop at the Nestle Waters plant in Pennsylvania, we headed out toward Ohio.

It didn’t take us long to reach our destination, but they won’t unload us until 11pm at the earliest. Possibly not until 5:30 in the morning. No worries though, because while driving today I had plenty of time to think about ideas for stories, so tonight I’ll be writing some down. That’s one nice thing about being on the road; plenty of time to think.

We’re parked behind a store in a mall, tonight. There’s terrible internet reception out here, but I’m hoping it’ll work well enough for some of the research I want to do. My phone shows five bars and LTE, yet the Internet is slow as the proverbial molasses. That’s one major drawback of life on the road; no decent internet. Once I start earning more, I may have to invest in some kind of mobile internet package.

For dinner tonight we stopped at Applebee’s, which was a nice change of pace from the trail mix and slim wraps I’ve been eating on the road. But it’s also more expensive, and I’m trying to keep my spending down, so I can’t make this a habit.

I’m excited to call my wife tonight, because I have some good news: tomorrow I’ll be picking up a load headed to Dallas! So I might be able to visit home this weekend. That would be grand! And following that delivery, I should be headed back to Kentucky to finish phase one of training and move on to phase 2, when I’ll be heading out to drive as a team with another trainee. I’m a little nervous about that transition, hoping that I get someone competent and hard-working like myself. But I’m also looking forward to it, because that puts me one step closer to driving solo.

Well, that’s about all I have for today. I look forward to what tomorrow brings!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

