Phase 1, Day 1: Getting My Bearings

My trainer said he wanted to be on the road at 6 when we spoke last night, so I was up at 5 and ready to roll at 6. (That’s another thing the military taught me: how to wake up on time and be ready for action.)

By 8, we were rolling through Jackson, Tennessee, headed toward Houston, Texas. The traffic was light, sky blue, and weather fair. It was a good ride, and I got to know my trainer more along the way. Then in West Memphis, Arkansas, we slid into a truck stop and swapped seats. It was my turn to drive.

Let me tell you, this truck is wonderful. Freightliner Cascadia 2017, with all the bells and whistles. I drove over 500 miles with a couple stops for lunch, bathroom, etc. It was challenging at times, learning the footprint of my vehicle and keeping it between the lines, but I’m getting the hang of it, and today was a very good day.

Tomorrow we drop off our first load in Houston, then high-tail it to Illinois. That’s over 1,000 miles of driving, between myself and my trainer. Wish me luck! It’s gonna be a long day…

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

